What is the Eligibility for Indian tourist visa | E-visa

Tourism has grown leaps and bounds over the years in India, with each region contributing something to its splendor and exuberance. India’s rich cultural diversity reflects through its people, languages, cuisine, traditions, customs, music, dance, religious practices, and festivals, its holistic healing traditions, art and craft.

To make travel to India trouble-free and unforgettable for foreign tourists, the Government of India launched e-Tourist Visa External Website that opens in a new window on November 27, 2014, to 43 countries from nine designated Indian Airports. The e-Tourist Visa facility – External Website that opens in a new window was extended to the nationals of 31 countries in May 2015. The total number of countries under the scheme is 76. The scheme will be extended to more countries in a phased manner. The Government is aiming to extend this scheme to 150 countries to encourage and promote tourism in India.


E-Tourist Visa Facility:

External Website that opens in a new window is currently available for holders of passport of following countries; Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Cayman Island, Chile, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Indonesia, Israel, Japan.

Eligibility for the scheme:

International Travelers whose sole objective of visiting India is recreation, sightseeing, casual visit to meet friends or relatives, short duration medical treatment or casual business visit.

  • Passport should have at least six months validity from the date of arrival in India. The passport should have at least two blank pages for stamping by the Immigration Officer.
  • International Travelers should have a return ticket or onward journey ticket, with sufficient money to spend during his/her stay in India.
  • International Travelers having Pakistani Passport or Pakistani origin may please apply for regular Visa at Indian Mission.
  • Not available to Diplomatic/Official Passport Holders. Not available to individuals endorsed on Parent’s/Spouse’s Passport i.e. each individual should have a separate passport.
  • Not available to International Travel Document holders.

Instructions for e-Tourist Visa:

  • Applicants of the eligible countries may apply online visa minimum 4 days in advance of the date of arrival with a window of 30 days. Example: If you are applying on 1st Sept. then the applicant can select arrival date from 5th Sept. to 4th Oct.
  • Recent front-facing photograph with white background and photo page of Passport containing personal details like name, date of birth, nationality, expiry date etc. to be uploaded by the applicant. The application is liable to be rejected if the uploaded document and photograph are not clear/as per specification.
  • Applicant should carry a copy of eTV – External Website that opens in a new window along with him/her at the time of travel.
  • Biometric details of the applicant will be mandatorily captured at Immigration on arrival in India.
  • The validity of visa will be 30 days from the date of arrival in India.
  • eTV – External Website that opens in a new window is valid for entry through 9 designated Airports i.e. Bengaluru, Chennai, Cochin, Delhi, Goa, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Mumbai & Trivandrum. However, the foreigner can take exit from any of the authorized Immigration Check Posts (ICPs) in India.
  • This facility is in addition to the existing Visa services.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s